Burda 03/2012 front knot dress

It started with buying 3 meters of a beautiful fabric with a really great print which I didn’t want to break.

I decided on the burda 03/2012 front knot dress, the longer version, because this fabric calls for a long dress…

Of course I said to myself, no way this dress needs 5+ meters of fabric, it must be one of those burda exaggerations.

After hours of copying the pattern pieces (you need to glue several big sheets of papers together), I found out indeed my 3 meters are not enough… :-(

So, quickly, before I loose the moment of actually sitting down and sewing, I shortened the pattern and used another fabric from my stash.

The beautiful fabric will have to wait for another long dress…

This fabric is jersey, so I had to take it down one size and also take the shoulders further in.

It is very flowy and comfortable, and I used a very thin netting for the lining so it’s not too heavy for the summer.

Closeup…

Tummy posing…

Just happy…

8 thoughts on “Burda 03/2012 front knot dress

  1. It’s a shame you had to change your plans but this dress looks so great on you. I bought that issue just for his pattern! I also like that it’s one of those patterns that can be a maternity pattern without being a maternity pattern, if that makes sense? Hehe, it looks comfy and pretty xx

    • Can’t wait to see yours! Is your sewing room ready?
      btw, we’re moving too in two weeks and I dread the idea of packing all my sewing stuff. I’ll get a much smaller sewing room than yours, and it’s actually sort of a closed balcony… but it’s better then the niche in the living room that I had up to now :-)

      • I am just waiting for my carpet installer to ring me, if not this week then early next week and I can finally set myself up, I can’t wait to settle in properly!
        Packing up sewing stuff really sucks, so many things of different sizes. I used zip loc bags and shoe boxes inside bigger boxes so I wouldn’t lose anything. And you’d be surprised how heavy a box of just fabric can be! :) Best of luck with the move, any room is a great room, with some clever storage you’ll really enjoy it :)

  2. Just hopped over from Burda. Glad I did. You have some wonderful posts on here. Thank you for the tip on the fabric required for this dress. I would love to have a go at this one in a maxi length. Encouraging that it minimizes your bump! There is hope for me yet (and I have no excuse!) ;-)

    • Thank you :-) I like your blog too.
      It really does the trick to hide my bump, and would probably be a great nursing dress too (till the bump hopefully disappears…)
      Waiting to see your long version!

  3. I love your fabric choice for this dress, i never thought of doing it in a jersey. Its disguises you bump so well. I have made this dress twice, the first came out really well the second was a bit tight under my bust and makes me look as pregnant as you, only there is no baby.

    Congratulations on a great dress.

Leave a Reply

